Author Topic: Off-coverage  (Read 2423 times)

bojanglesman

• Don Maynard
Off-coverage
« on: July 29, 2014, 08:39:48 AM »
I've heard rumblings of Rex using more off-coverage schemes for the corners so far in training camp.  I'm no expert, so I don't know how much of this is a function of installing the defense vs. and actual scheme change.  If it is something that Rex is changing (and it seemed he did it with Cro last year, albeit likely due to injury), I wonder what the reasoning is. 

The best reason I can come up with is that it might allow our corners to cover deeper and intermediate routes better with things in front of them, allowing the front 7 more time to get to the QB.  The problem seems that it would have us getting eaten alive on short routes, slants, etc.  There has to be a reason Rex is doing it, and he certainly knows what he's doing.  Maybe it just fits the abilities of our corners better than trying to force them into press coverage 24/7.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2014, 08:44:03 AM by bojanglesman »

Miamipuck

• Puckstapo
  • Wayne Chrebet
  • I didn't order assholes with my whiskey.
Re: Off-coverage
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 09:17:54 AM »
I've heard rumblings of Rex using more off-coverage schemes for the corners so far in training camp.  I'm no expert, so I don't know how much of this is a function of installing the defense vs. and actual scheme change.  If it is something that Rex is changing (and it seemed he did it with Cro last year, albeit likely due to injury), I wonder what the reasoning is.